moss the …5

Expressing 60 years.  It is said that if an actor speaks his lines with a combination of ‘everything right’,  it can be described as, lightning in a bottle.  Since I cannot actually do that,  either by magic or metaphor,  I’ll simply beg my fingers with tactile sense to remember.   It is my intention to take us with broad brush from before you arrived on the planet  through and ending with the farm days.  It is then that most of you took flight into your own life course. Other writings will be independent adventures of impromptu writings.

1952 +     I was working in the Billing Department of a large appliance wholesale house.  It is how I met your Dad,  fellow (gal) colleague.  This gal became my friend and we did lots together including my first Christmas shopping sojourn in dazzling Charm City ( Baltimore) and it was thrilling night.   Remember coming home with many mufti-shaped colorfully wrapped presents for everyone I loved.   I had not given even a thought to the man I would meet in a few days.  I can still hear the bells ringing along with attractive show windows and the cheerful crowds and falling snow.    This was my town but I had never absorbed it  at night.  It was my first truly adult moment.  I had been downtown many, many times and for many occasions but not like this. In a crystal clear moment I felt my own presence. This was a moment of owning self.

Your father came to Baltimore very close to Christmas. We  met at Aunt Jeanne’s, stopped by to see my Mom and Dad on our way out of town as we drove to see Grandma in Lititiz.  All in one day, life was signed, sealed, and delivered. 

However, I forgot something important.  I forgot to stay with ‘self’ whom I had just encountered a little while ago.  Love is blind and your Dad and I cooperated with that madness by falling head over heals in love.  It’s all part of some wicked but heavenly plan that is bigger than we.  Maybe we all jump willy- nilly through the  fabric of life making our own dizzying pattern. But I shout the following.   From that dizzying plan, amazing persons inhabit my life  That would be all of you, my darling children.

Because I worked at the whole-sale distributorship, I was able to purchase over a period of months both large and small  items we would need such as refrigerator , Mix Master, and by gosh that toaster.  My oldest brother had connections with Heywood Wakefield furniture factory. We bought ‘wholesale’  the dinning room , living room and bedroom sets, all Heywood Wakefield. Some of those pieces still stand tall.  The dinning room table in M’s house and the bedroom set is in L’s house.  Other pieces just got lost along the way.   Guess what(?)  We had a snow white wool rug in the living room of our new little apartment on Apple Street in Lititz.

Everyone in my family approved and celebrated our love. Gratefully we had many support systems that translated into material support and jobs.  Your Dad did not like his new job at the saw-mill in Kinzer because after being in the Marine Band the mill was a dreary. prospect.  I did not blame him. Your uncle in Lititz secured him that job which lasted about six months.  What a dilemma it was since your Dad loved being home in Lititz.  ..but there was no work there beyond the mill at least none that presented   My brother Ch. secured a job for  your Dad  in the Nuclear Department of the Martin Aircraft Company.  Ch had been with Glenn L. Martin for many years and was quite respected for his ingenuity thus he had some pull.  So we raced back to Baltimore and lived with my Mom and Dad.  We were with them when St was born.  How they loved having a baby to hold, and love.   Ch. co-signed a loan for us so that we could get some rather large necessaries and could move into our own apartment.  Da was born from that new nest.   Dad could not get home from work when I went into labor with Da, so my Dad came over and called a cab.  All the way to the hospital, the Cabbie kept looking around pleadingly asking that I please not have a baby in his cab. Harumph!  He should have been honored.  Well, we did make it to St. Joseph Hospital in Baltimore in fine fettle both mom and baby.

We then bought a home with the help of the GI Bill. This is where Su, P and M were born.  It was a great family neighborhood where the big boys went to preschool and played with short little friends all day safely and happily.  It was the place where Su would have simply walked away into the world if someone did not grab her hand.  It was the place where our 4th. of July baby made everyone laugh because his paced in his play-pen as if it were an office.  Sweet M , our fifth child was born from that GI house but Dad was in Lancaster working at his new job.  So I depended on family and neighbors. Two weeks after M’s birth, somehow family and move-truck got us all to Lancaster to join Dad who had rented a former Fraternity House near  F&M which had a basement and a subbasement–it had a front and back stairway–it had an attic with two shower stalls and several urinals–it had phone numbers all over the dining room wall where the phone had been.  Beyond that it was rather nice with its huge rooms and corner of the row position, not to mention a working fireplace.  Yes, the year there on J Street was just fine. I can’t think why I had an emotional post baby blues.  Never fear modern chemistry and the kind stay of beloved niece, MJN kept everything moving along until we found a home to purchase in Ham Park where you children quickly found friends as did Mom.  Dad had his wood-working equipment in the basement and the rest of us had social lives appropriate to our ages.  [You know that,  Fat Daddy’s name came up at bridge just the other day by another lady who lived in that neighborhood.] The fabric always touches. In addition, the Chever B family lived across the street.  Mrs. Chever B married B McCart after her huband died.  I ended up being a live-in guest with B McCart when I returned from overseas for  reasons beyond my control.  The fabric always touches.

Dad stayed with Martin’s for eight years when he had a choice to make. Martin Marietta was starting up in Cocoa Beach and there was some Colorado activity for the company.  This was not to be.  Your Dad told me sincerely that he missed the life style and the place of Lancaster County.  So your Dad got a job at Hamilton Watch and we raced back to Lancaster County.  I still see in a social way, the wife of Dad’s former  boss at Hamilton.  The fabric continues to touch.

mosswood

to be con’t

~ by mosswood on July 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
